Posted by: unlikelygrad | March 21, 2012

the reward

A few months ago I decided that, after I passed my quals, I would reward myself with a table saw. I’ve wanted one for a while and it would be useful for working on the house.

Yeah. But now I look at my budget, and I’m kinda broke. (I’ve been sending lots of money to the lawyer.) So spending $500 on a top-of-the-line saw (I like good-quality tools) is pretty much out of the question.

I’m starting to wonder if I should get something cheaper. Like a Kindle, for example. A Kindle would be useful in a different sort of way; I’m going to be at sea for ~3 weeks this summer and don’t want to get bored.

In any case, I welcome input from my readers.

Responses

  1. Get a Kindle, you can always borrow a table saw. Besides, a Kindle would be useful on your research cruises as you can store books and papers on them.

  2. What ever you do make sure you get yourself something! We can be really bad about rewarding ourselves for the milestones in grad school so good for you! Bet you if it was a few hundred dollars for your kids you would find the money somewhere :-)

    • True, Sarah. It’s not that I don’t have the money for a table saw, it’s that all of the money in my bank account is for child-related-expenses which have unexpectedly popped up. *sigh*

  3. […] while back, I brought up a conundrum: as a reward for passing my quals, should I shell out for a table saw or should I buy a Kindle, […]

  4. […] while back, I brought up a conundrum: as a reward for passing my quals, should I shell out for a table saw or should I buy a Kindle, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

