Posted by: unlikelygrad | January 10, 2009

a prudent piece of advice

When I was first considering the idea of returning to school, I emailed or talked to:

  1.  everyone in my family who’d been to grad school (I have lots of siblings!)
  2.  any of my acquaintances who’d returned to grad school several years after college graduation

I got lots of decent advice, but the best thing I heard came from a friend of mine, also a chemist, who’d returned for his master’s degree eight years after receiving his bachelor’s.  In a nutshell, this is what he told me:

My biggest mistake was assuming that the chemistry that people were currently learning in school was the same as the chemistry I’d learned in school.  I didn’t realize how much the science had changed, and I got steamrollered.  If I were going back today, I would first get up-to-date textbooks and study them to bring myself up to speed.

Needless to say, I took this advice seriously.  My college texts are still gathering dust, and I am studying out of relatively new textbooks.

Responses

  1. […] sorts has prompted me to create a series of posts about advice I took to heart. In addition to the advice from an old chemist which I’ve posted about previously, I received several incredible tidbits from people around […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

