Posted by: unlikelygrad | February 1, 2009

envisioning life as a graduate student

I’ve gone to great lengths to impress admissions committees that I’m capable of handling life as a grad student. But, until recently, I’ve often doubted whether I really could hack it. Those doubts are scattering fast.

This semester, I’m taking two classes, one lab (senior undergraduate level), plus a graduate-level class on bioinformatics. The former requires half the lab reports to be written as ACS-style journal articles; the latter has an NIH-style grant proposal as a final project.

In addition, I’m also down at the lab pretty much every single chance I can get. It struck me the other day that this is pretty much what I can expect from my grad student years, at least the early ones, and it’s totally manageable. I may think otherwise at the end of the semester, when I’m trying to churn out an article and a grant proposal at the same time, but for now I’m very happy with my life.

*phew*

I can do this!

Leave a Reply

Categories

