Posted by: unlikelygrad | March 12, 2009

I’m finding it incredibly hard to concentrate

Are any other grad applicants finding it hard to concentrate on school work? I am.

I have a lab report due on Monday. This is for a p-chem lab where the focus is less on actual lab-work and more on data & error analysis. For our “short reports” we spend maybe five hours doing the actual experiment and then something like 15 hours writing it up. Ugh.

I also have data from this same class which is going to be used for a “long report”, e.g. stuff written up a la ACS journal article. This is due not long after my “grand tour” (see last post) so I really need to get cracking on it soon!

Luckily the workload in my bioinformatics class has eased up. Still, I have a lot to do, and I can’t focus. What a pain!

I will be glad when the decision is MADE and I can stop worrying about where I’m going to spend the next five years. Though it occurs to me that once I’ve made my choice, I will have to start worrying about things like moving a family of six to a new locale…*groan*

Responses

  1. Yeap, I’m also having trouble focusing. As of now I have a big assignment for one of my Econ classes, but I’m contemplating dropping the class altogether and just graduating with a CS major and Econ minor instead of a double major. Just got into (CloseU), though, what did you think of it?

  2. I haven’t visited yet, Kwendo. But I’ll tell you what it’s like after I do.

  3. Luckily I just finished with my graduate school-searching journey (In biomedical sciences) last week, and now have all of my acceptances in hand. However, especially with my top two choices, during the week I was waiting for an answer (luckily they both admitted me within a week of the interview), I was a wreck and couldn’t concentrate…but at the same time I didn’t feel like I could completely confide in my friends, who wouldn’t understand. And of course, while waiting for my top choice school, I had a big exam that same week! Luckily I didn’t screw it up 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

