Posted by: unlikelygrad | March 13, 2009

feeling moderately productive

My first lab report is more or less done. There is a bit of tweaking that needs to be done–trying, for example, to rationalize why the experimentally generated values are so far from the literature values–but that sort of thing is a piece of cake for me.

Today I also finished writing a Perl script for data analysis related to my research. (Considering that I failed the only programming class I ever took, that is a big accomplishment.) SL helped with the first part, but the last part I did all on my own. I only needed help debugging–turns out, I’d left out a semi-colon, my major failing as a programmer.

I also typed up some documentation on methodology for said research. Not my favorite task, but something that needs to be done. Excluding the post-doc (who does things his own, different way), I am SL’s first ever student, and he really wants me to document, document, document so subsequent students don’t have to re-invent the wheel.

I feel like I should tape a large sign on the wall that says, “Check for missing semi-colons!” but otherwise I am pretty pleased with the day’s work.

I am always in a good mood when I get stuff done. As a bonus, it’s Friday! Yippee! I’m going to go home and spend some time with my kids and husband.

Responses

  1. I’m so glad that you are documenting all of your procedures! I was in the first batch of The Boss’ students, and some of us were better at documenting techniques and procedures than others. You are really helping out the next generation of students!


Leave a Reply

Categories

