Posted by: unlikelygrad | April 21, 2009

senioritis?!

Well, I did the unthinkable (for me) yesterday. I turned in a lab write-up that I was not happy with.

I don’t think I’ve ever done that before. Not as a senior in high school; not as a senior undergrad. I am a perfectionist, and turning in something I’m unhappy with rankles me. It wasn’t that I blew off the assignment. (In fact, I spent about 15 hours working on it over the weekend.) The truth of the matter was, I didn’t get around to writing it until it was too late to go into office hours for help.

So what went wrong? I think it was, quite simply, not keeping better track of time. I made the assignment a low priority. I gave precedence to my research, my bioinformatics project, and even the home-improvement project my husband and I have been busting our butts to finish.

Needless to say, I’m already starting the next lab write-up. I can’t afford to blow off two in a row.

Leave a Reply

Categories

