Posted by: unlikelygrad | May 18, 2009

feeling sorry for my PI

It’s the middle of finals week here. I’ve finished one class (woot!) and have almost finished the final project for the other, so I feel like I have time to post again.

SL (my PI) and a colleague have spent the last month or so hammering out a grant proposal. Now that I’m writing a mini-grant proposal of my own (for a class assignment), I am starting to feel sorry for them.

I’m feeling especially sorry since yesterday: at a standstill with my writing, I downloaded some sample (real) NIH grant proposals to look at. Ugh! The requirements for my class proposal are light compared to the real thing!

In addition to writing the grant, SL has also been working hard to write up the methodology he developed as a post-doc. That, at least, is in good shape. (I’ve read the draft and it’s really coming together.) Watching him in action, I see that my piddly assignments are nothing compared to what they could be.

Leave a Reply

Categories

