Posted by: unlikelygrad | August 21, 2009

a week of goodbyes

Any time you move there are goodbyes aplenty to be said. If I had more to say this week, it’s because I’ve been living in this house for 11.5 years and the area for 13:

Tuesday I said good-bye to my homeschool group. I’ve known some of those people for 12 years–I started going right before I tackled kindergarten with my oldest. People there have been my mentors…my students…my friends…and, as I figured out what I wanted to be when I grew up, my cheerleaders. They brought a cake to share and sang “For she’s a jolly good fellow” to send me off.

Wednesday I said good-bye to SL, the best damn PI in the world. I couldn’t finish the project I started for him but I got it to a good stopping point and, most importantly, I documented everything I did thoroughly–from my procedures (some of which I made up myself) to my PERL scripts (which has almost as many comments as commands).

Thursday (that would be today) I said goodbye to my church community…which has been an amazing support group for me, not to mention the source of many of my childrens’ mentors over the years.

Friday (tomorrow) I get to say goodbye to my sister. I shared a room with her in junior high & high school, and then we ended up living near each other (less than 5 miles the whole time) for the 13 years I’ve been in this area. This was completely coincidental, as we moved in at almost the same time and she didn’t know where we’d found a place when she chose hers…I’ve been here for the birth of her first three children, and am going to miss the fourth one’s arrival by only a few months. Waah! It’s been nice to have my kids growing up so near cousins as that was an experience I missed myself.

And then Saturday I say goodbye to my family…at least until I visit again… That one will be the hardest. Did I ever mention that I have the best kids in the world? And the best husband?

Leave a Reply

Categories

