Posted by: unlikelygrad | September 2, 2009

they have ears, but they hear not

Sometimes I think that whoever originally said the quote in the title was referring to undergrads. (And yes, before you say so, I do realize that the quotation comes from the Bible.)

My freshmen were good and scared of me–I should have no trouble keeping them in line. (Though I did overhear a fellow TA’s student saying to another student, “Wow. They actually expect us to read the procedure before we get to lab? How lame.”)

My quant lab students were…not paying a lot of attention, evidently. There were a couple of things that I told them SEVERAL times that they had to do–write in their notebooks in pen, read their burets to 2 decimal places, etc. Probably at least 1/3 of the class had to be personally corrected before they took my ‘advice’ (read: orders) to heart. *sigh* They’re even worse than my kids…

Leave a Reply

Categories

