Posted by: unlikelygrad | December 1, 2009

reading recommendations

I’m a bookoholic–if I don’t go to the library at least once per week, I feel deprived. Here are three non-fiction books (yes, science-related) that I’ve read recently and recommend:

(just for fun)

Winter World: the Ingenuity of Animal Survival by Bernd Heinrich (Harper-Collins, 2003). Technical enough to satisfy the scientist in me, but easy enough reading that my mother-in-law would enjoy it. I’m a great believer that starting kids out as naturalists is the best way to turn them into scientists long-term, so I love reading stuff from “true” naturalists–trained biologists who observe things in their natural habitat and experiment to learn more.

Serendipity: Accidental Discoveries in Science by Royston M. Roberts (Wiley & Sons, 1989). I loved this book because it reinforced many of the things I’ve told people over the years in regards to science–for example, never throw out data just because they “seem wrong.” Or, being observant and curious is what leads to discoveries.

Bad Science: The Short Life and Weird Times of Cold Fusion by Gary Taubes (Random House, 1993). The cold fusion fiasco may be a distant memory for most of us, but the lessons to be learned about doing “proper science” make this a worthwhile read.

Leave a Reply

Categories

