Posted by: unlikelygrad | February 11, 2010

on pins and needles

Regular readers may notice that I haven’t posted anything about how my seminar went. That is because I only have a fuzzy idea, based on my own ideas of what a presentation should be. The profs who grade are notoriously slow about getting the results sheet back to the student giving the seminar. Some people have waited up to a week to hear whether they passed or not. If the seminar committee makes me wait until after the 3-day weekend to get my results I will probably start leveling accusations of Cruel and Unusual Punishment.

How do I think I did? OK. Not perfect. I was rather sick at the time I presented (not just butterflies in the tummy–I had a head cold, so was dealing with both a headache and a voice that was on the verge of giving out). It was not one of my best presentations, but it went fairly well, and I think I handled the Q&A time afterwards decently.

Some of the professors who were not grading said they thought I did pretty well. Unfortunately, it isn’t their opinion that counts. I am taking classes from two of the graders and really hoped I could get hints from them. Not verbal hints, mind, since I’m sure they’re not allowed to give them. I’m usually pretty good at reading people’s emotions, so I’d planned on looking for guilt (read: “I had to fail you”) or acceptance (“Hey, that wasn’t bad.”)

The prof I’ve seen several times since Tuesday, unfortunately, is not known for his great shows of emotion. (I would hate to play poker with him!) He has treated me exactly the same as he always does. I get to see the other one in an hour or so: we’ll see how that goes. In the mean time, I’m sitting here on pins and needles.

Leave a Reply

Categories

