Posted by: unlikelygrad | March 22, 2010

fellowship decisions must be coming up

I am trying not to stress out too much about the upcoming NDSEG and NSF GRFP decisions because I have too much else on my plate right now. However, I know I must be subconsciously thinking about it, because I had the following dream last night:

The NSF GRFP people announced that, although decisions wouldn’t be announced for a little while, we could come look at our annotated folders. I went in to look at mine and it was very fat. Surprised, I opened it up, and found that not only did it have all of my transcripts, but also my “parent reports” from my first (failure) year at BigNameU. (Note that BigNameU actually did send mid-term progress reports to my parents; this was not something made up by my subconscious) Of course these were all negative–they contained such choice tidbits as “always falls asleep in lecture.” Yes, this was a comment on several of my actual progress reports–I hadn’t learned how to manage that yet. Needless to say, I panicked when I saw these in there.

Flipping farther along, I found notations on my recommendation letters: “Up and coming theoretical chemist thinks she’s da Bomb!”…and glowing comments on my past volunteer work.

At the end of the dream, I handed back the file. The man smiled at me and ushered me into a reception hall with lots of food. As I helped myself to the buffet, I heard him saying to someone at the door: “I’m sorry, you can’t come in. This is for fellowship recipients only.”

Then I woke up.

May I say that I am very, very, very glad that, not only do NSF and NDSEG not have my freshman progress reports, they also don’t have my transcripts from BigNameU? (They only wanted transcripts from my actual baccalaureate-granting institution.)

*sigh* Back to work…if I can concentrate…

Responses

  1. Oh man, so glad someone else is having nightmares about fellowships. Well, I’m not actually glad, but at least I know I’m not the only crazy one! One week (theoretically) until we hear about NDSEG. Fingers crossed for us both!

  2. […] I am trying not to stress out too much about the upcoming NDSEG and NSF GRFP decisions because I have too much else on my plate right now. However, I know I must be subconsciously thinking about it, because I had the following dream …Continue […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

