Posted by: unlikelygrad | April 3, 2010

looking back #3A: from housewife to grad student in under 2 years

I found a plethora of posts on my old blog on the mid-life crisis which spawned my return to grad school. Warning: long-ish post follows.
* * *
February 7, 2007

I’m applying for a part time job. They’re asking for two business references, two personal references, and previous employer information.

Business references are hard when you’ve been self-employed, but I guess I can put down names of people I’ve tutored for (the parents, not the kids!).

Previous employer information is likewise hard. The last place that employed me went belly up 15 years ago. That puts me back to a place I haven’t worked since…oh, I don’t know, 1990 or 1991. Amazingly, the guy who was my immediate supervisor is still there. But does he remember me, given the number of students he employs every year?

Then there are the personal references. Here, it’s not a question of who I could ask but who I could list, but rather who would be the best people to list. What do employers want in a personal reference? And do they actually contact them?

I hate job hunting. It feels demeaning to me. I’m overqualified for any of the part-time jobs I’ve found, and none of them pay as much as I’m worth. I could get a better job working full time, but I don’t want to work that much; I need to keep up my half of homeschooling the kids while still having the mental energy to write.
* * *
February 25, 2007

WHO AM I???!!!

WHAT DO I WANT TO DO WITH MY LIFE???!!!

Or maybe that should be…why don’t any of the things I want to do with my life don’t make any money?

Or maybe that should be…why is it that so many of the things I want to do with my life are impossible, or made impossible by circumstances I cannot change?

We now return you to your regularly scheduled life. [/rant]

* * *
February 24, 2008

Yesterday was CERTdrill/graduation day. I was there for 9 hours and came home absolutely exhausted, but happy–extraordinarily happy. I love that stuff. Cribbing. Shoring. And, especially, the drill, which is a disaster simulation.

Why can’t I get paid to do this? I just sent in my monthly volunteer hours (yes, the city makes us track those) and I put in 29 in Feb. That’s more than I spent tutoring.

I love being a CERT instructor because it combines things I love: teaching, preparedness, and hands-on activity. I can’t think of any job that would be so fulfilling.

*sigh* What in the world am I gonna be when I grow up? I can think of lots of things I can do, but none of them are paying jobs. And why did my mid-life crisis hit so many years before age 40?

Part 2 of this post will follow tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

Categories

