Posted by: unlikelygrad | May 4, 2010

hand-waving

I have some serious posts in mind but I need to write something light and fluffy today to cheer me up.

My advisor likes the term “hand-waving”; she always talks about such-and-such people making this claim or that even though they’re just hand-waving.

She engages in hand-waving herself, a lot, though of a different sort. You see, she’s the sort of person who couldn’t talk if her hands were tied behind her back. Anything she says is accompanied by wild, energetic gesticulating.

Last week, T. & I were up in the GC-MS lab with her when she suddenly got an idea. As usual, the more excited she got, the more her hands waved around. When she noticed us taking a step back, she looked down at her hands.

“Oh,” she said, “I guess I shouldn’t gesture so much when I have a sharp syringe in my hand, should I?”

I’ve been trying to think of a good pseudonym for my advisor for a while now. I hereby christen her Dr. Hand-Waver (Dr. HW for short).

Responses

  1. […] I finally thought of a pseudonym for my advisor–who, not long after that, landed a relatively juicy NSF grant. I also won the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

