Posted by: unlikelygrad | October 11, 2010

patience is not my strong suit

My research involves taking a couple of different recently developed methodologies, incorporating some new techniques that are supposed to fix some of the weak points in each, and integrating it all into one cohesive whole. The main problem I’ve been struggling with since late summer is that one of the so-called ‘fixes’ seems to cause as many problems as it solves.

On Saturday, it finally hit me–we didn’t need this fix at all! There was another way to deal with the problem! Or so I thought. Excited, I rushed to dash off an email to Dr. Hand-Waver, asking her if my idea would work. And then I waited, and waited, and waited.

Now, I do expect Dr. Hand-Waver to have a life. When I email her on Saturday morning, I fully assume that she won’t answer until late evening (after Little Hand-Waver is in bed) or the following morning. But Saturday passed, and Sunday passed, and there was still no reply. I figured that she was probably having a fun weekend somewhere, and I didn’t begrudge her this at all.

However, on Monday morning she still had not replied. (Remember, she’s on sabbatical, two time zones earlier than I am, so it’s not uncommon for her to reply to emails at 7 or 8 am my time.) If she were still at MyU I would be at her office by now, beating down the door. But she’s not.

ACK!!! Where are you, dear advisor? I wanna know if my idea will work!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

