Posted by: unlikelygrad | October 29, 2010

It wasn’t me! Really!

Yesterday I got to substitute for a friend of mine who’s been confined to bed for medical (non-pregnancy) reasons. It was quant lab, and I found (to my delight) that several of her students were people I’d TA-ed in Chem 1 last semester.

One of the first orders of business was to pass back the corrected lab reports that my friend’s husband had dropped off. As I did so, my former students complained, “Will you please teach her how to grade? You were so much better about it than she was!”

“You’ve got to be kidding me,” I replied. “Half of my evaluations from your section last semester complained that I was a harsh grader!”

“We weren’t the ones who said that,” they protested.

Alas for them, I think they haven’t yet figured out that teachers recognize their students’ handwriting. And at least one of the girls who claimed innocence was one of my whiniest evaluators for last semester…

Of course I just smiled and said “Hmmmm….” and went on to have a good chat with all of them during the next 3 hours.

Leave a Reply

Categories

