Posted by: unlikelygrad | November 6, 2010

SQUEEEEEEE!!!!

I have mentioned before that I wrote a book on science education for homeschoolers. Publishing for the homeschool market is kinda weird–publishers are wary of titles for a specialty market, and don’t know how to sell to homeschoolers anyway. (This is less info I’ve determined on my own and more what I’ve picked up from “famous homeschool authors” I’ve met at homeschool conferences.)

When I was first ready to publish 5 years ago, I took the manuscript to a local printer and got it done that way. Most homeschool parents I polled preferred a spiral binding anyway. But alas, Amazon doesn’t like to stock stuff with spiral bindings. So for the last couple of years I told myself I would find a self-publishing company that would put it in a regular binding.

Of course, this required reformatting (the original was 8.5 x 11, large trade paperbacks are 8×10) etc. which was a real pain in the butt. After months of working on it a little here, a little there–whenever I could squeeze time out of my busy grad school schedule–I finally submitted my manuscript to CreateSpace. The first proof, of course, had errors; but I managed to get it right the second time around.

And now, finally, after weeks of waiting, is finally available on Amazon.

Here it is.

(And yes, this does blow my anonymity. But as I mentioned earlier, pseudonymity is a completely different thing. I still steadfastly refuse to post my name on this blog.)

Responses

  1. Congratulations!! I wonder how u cope! BTW i hav bookmarked your blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

