Posted by: unlikelygrad | December 15, 2010

focus…focus…focus…

Filing for divorce in the middle of the semester might not have been the best idea. Of course, I don’t know if there is ever a good time to get divorced, at least if you have kids still in the home. (Being married had become even more of a challenge, though…)

Dumb personal life.

My divorce is such an all-consuming topic that I find myself thinking about it constantly. What is a fair way to split time with the kids? What’s an equitable way to divide the assets? Can I work out a settlement such that neither my ex nor I ever have to make any sort of payment to each other?

As you can imagine, this makes it hard for me to concentrate. When informed about my impending divorce, both of my professors kindly granted me extensions on my research papers. I managed to get one paper in on time, but the other one is still only half-finished and I am having trouble making any progress. When my prof granted my extension, did he think I was spending hours in counseling/court/mediation? Does he realize that instead, I’m sitting here on my couch, unable to do anything but stare at my Christmas tree or play Scrabble online, because I just can’t get my thoughts on bioremediation to coalesce?

I don’t feel depressed–and trust me, I’ve experienced enough depression in my life to know what it should feel like. So why can’t I concentrate? I’ve got the paper outlined and most of the articles I need in front of me. Why can’t I finish it?

Responses

  1. Sorry to hear about it. They are giving you time to for lack of a better term “deal with it.” Take the time for what it is, a chance to shut it down for a little bit, handle some stuff, and put things in perspective. I have found that some times you just have to shut it down for a while and then things will come back. Best of luck.

  2. If it makes you feel any better, I can’t concentrate at all either. It’s December! The days are so short now that I’m in full-on hibernation mode. It’s so hard to get any work done! (Thus I am playing Scrabble with you!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

