Posted by: unlikelygrad | January 4, 2011

a confession

You may have noticed that I haven’t been blogging as much lately. This is because I write best early in the morning–in fact, I write a lot of my posts before I get out of bed, though sometimes I set them to post later. My second favorite time to write posts is after I go to bed at night. There’s something about lying in bed that spawns creativity.

I cannot do this lately because I have no internet access at home. See, when I filed for divorce and moved out, there was so, so, so much to do that I totally forgot to arrange for internet service. But one night, I flipped open my laptop and noticed that… bingo!…one of my neighbors had an unsecured network. (I only felt somewhat guilty about using it, since most of my connectivity takes place at school, where I get free net access.)

Unfortunately for me, “Mr. Netgear” (as I fondly refer to him) must be a student, because he’s been gone for all of winter break. So there’s no more free internet access at home. I’m still debating whether or not to pay for service–I could just walk up the hill to the complex’s clubhouse, where there’s also free internet, after all. Do I really want to pay $30/month for the privilege of being able to blog in bed? Hmmm.

What do you think–is it unethical to use someone else’s internet? (I don’t stream movies online or do anything else requiring lots of bandwidth.)

Responses

  1. Dude pay $30 for the software Mars Edit, where you can blog offline and once you get to a place with Wifi, click a button and it will publish your posts to WordPress, Blogger, etc. instantly.

  2. If it’s unethical, then you and I are both in trouble. I had never paid for internet prior to starting my Ph.D. program a few months ago.

  3. In my opinion, it is so freaking easy to secure your wireless network that if someone chooses to leave it unsecured, they obviously don’t give a shit if someone is using their bandwidth. It’s like leaving their car in a dark parking lot with the keys in the ignition, the doors unlocked, and the windows down. They must not care about the car very much.

  4. My brother INTENTIONALLY leaves his network unsecured because he thinks it should be free for everyone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

