Posted by: unlikelygrad | January 5, 2011

lab binge

Classes don’t start for another week here at MyU, and to celebrate, my advisor has ordered a “lab binge”– she told me I should plan to do nothing but work in lab for a week. She’s not overseeing this from afar, though. She flew back from the East Coast yesterday, and today we’ll get going on our work.

Sadly, doing nothing but work in lab is impossible because my divorce is moving on. My first court date is smack in the middle of the day, in the middle of our lab binge. Ouch. Plus, I have to attend a court-mandated parenting-through-a-divorce class, which necessitates leaving lab early on one of our days. Bleah. I tried to get another date, but there were only two available; the other one was scheduled during one of my finals last month.

I have decided that divorce is worse than death and taxes combined–the pain and anguish of loss coupled with more paperwork than you can shake a stick at.

This does not change the fact that I still need to be spending much of the next week in lab. I foresee getting in VERY early in the morning to make up for time lost on divorce issues. *sigh*

Responses

  1. That really, really sucks. I feel for you, mama. 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

