Posted by: unlikelygrad | January 7, 2011

2010 in review

Wow. What a roller coaster I was on last year!

January: I became part of the first-ever all-female teaching team for Chem 1 here at MyU.

February: I went on a really cool field trip but “failed” my first attempt at giving a departmental seminar.

March: It finally hit me how much memorization is required to master mineralogy.

April: I got rejection letters from all 3 of the fellowships I applied for.

May: I finally thought of a pseudonym for my advisor–who, not long after that, landed a relatively juicy NSF grant. I also won the departmental TA award. May was a good month for me.

June: My eldest son, Al, graduated from community college.

July: After suffering through a particularly bad depressive episode, I finally got up the gumption to write about depression again.

August: I wrote what has probably been my most-read blog post.

September: I started training the new guy (who really needs a better pseudonym)

October: For a little over a month, I actually lived with my family while also being a grad student.

November: I filed for divorce.

December: I actually got my methodology working–the first results I could trust!

Can’t wait to see what 2011 will bring!

Leave a Reply

Categories

