Posted by: unlikelygrad | February 9, 2011

notes to seminar speakers

Not that I’ve ever been an invited speaker myself, but I’ve noticed a few issues over the years:

  1. If you are invited to give a seminar at another university and you notice in advance that your host has an unusual last name, for heaven’s sake listen carefully when he introduces himself…make sure you pronounce it right when you thank him in your seminar! Either that or just call him by his first name, if it’s pronounceable.
  2. If one of your host’s grad students has written a paper that ties in with your own work, make sure you find out her actual first name before speaking about her in your seminar. Don’t assume that “M. Smith” is Mary Smith, merely because Mary is the most common name starting with M.
  3. And most importantly, remember that the whole damn department is going to be in attendance, and that not everyone there knows everything about your subfield. So explain acronyms before the first time you use them, give a brief (a couple of sentences is usually fine) explanation of how an uncommon analytical technique works, and even go back to the basic principles of your subfield if you think you can squeeze it in.
  4. It is better for people to understand one facet of your work very well than for them to understand none of it. So don’t try to cram too much into the one hour you’ve been allotted.

Just a few notes from a student’s perspective.

Responses

  1. Enjoyed this.
    No one has ever complained about an explanation being too easy to understand!

  2. I hate when they go over.one went 1.5 hours and caused many lab ta’s to be late to their labs

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Neil Withers, GradShare. GradShare said: "Notes to Seminar Speakers" from The Unlikely Grad Student: http://tinyurl.com/46yknoq […]

  4. […] pertain to seminars, and I promised to get back to the subject in due course.  Earlier this week, a post by The Unlikely Grad Student (TUGS) titled “Notes to Seminar Speakers” reminded […]

  5. Hi, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

  6. A motivating discussion is worth comment. I believe that you should publish more about this subject matter, it might not be a taboo matter but usually people don’t speak about such topics. To the next! Kind regards!!

  7. Very nice post. I certainly appreciate this website. Continue the good work!

  8. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

  9. you are actually a good webmaster. The web site loading speed is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a excellent activity in this topic!

  10. I know this web page gives quality dependent content and additional information, is there any other site which presents these kinds of stuff in quality?

  11. This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Appreciate it!

  12. I am in fact thankful to the owner of this site who has shared this wonderful article at at this time.

  13. I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  14. Hi there colleagues, how is the whole thing, and what you wish for to say concerning this paragraph, in my view its genuinely awesome in support of me.

  15. Hello are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  16. When I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. Perhaps there is a means you can remove me from that service? Many thanks!

  17. Greetings from California! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, awesome blog!

  18. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually recognize what you are talking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally talk over with my web site =). We may have a link trade arrangement between us


Categories

