Posted by: unlikelygrad | March 28, 2011

A week from now, I will have no hair left…

…because I’m pulling it all out.

I just haven’t been able to do anything in lab recently, due to a combination of events which happened to hit at approximately the same time:

(1) Abstract for meeting due last Monday;

(2) Two heavy-duty labs for my XRD class with overlapping time scales;

(3) Homeschooling conference where I was scheduled to present four workshops. Two of these were workshops I’d never given before (though I recycled a fair bit of material for one of them). So I spent most of my free time over the last couple of weeks prepping.

(4)The conference (which was last weekend) was about 1000 miles from here; I figured that, as long as I was in that area, I would go visit my Gramma B, who had a stroke about 3 weeks ago. She’s bounced back amazingly well considering that she’s 95 years old–she’s more lucid than any of UnlikelyDad’s grandparents were at 90–but I’m still trying to accept the fact that that might have been the last time I saw her. I spent some time with my aunt and her family, who also live in the area, and a friend of mine who also lives nearby. All of this socializing left me wiped out and also left no time over the weekend to work on…

(5) The departmental seminar I’m presenting a week from tomorrow. The abstract for this is due tomorrow; I have a first draft but am supremely unhappy with it. Plus, Dr. Hand-Waver looked at my slides and told me I needed to do a major reorganization. Yay.

I think I need to stock up on ice cream.

Responses

  1. […] March: I had a very, very busy month. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

