Posted by: unlikelygrad | April 4, 2011

I just want one more day!!!

Tomorrow: departmental seminar, take 2.

Right now, mine is too long–you aren’t supposed to go longer than 50 minutes (to allow time for Q&A). This is primarily because I need more time to practice out loud–which would help me get rid of annoying pauses. If I did that, I’d probably lose 20% of the time it normally takes me (which is a bit over an hour).

On the other hand, I don’t think my graders will complain about “lack of specific methods” this time…I think there’s too much in there for my tastes!

You might wonder: why have I waited so long to practice? Simple. Each time I gave a practice presentation to someone else, I ended up with long lists of things to change, which took a minimum of 6 hours (usually more) to implement. *sigh* At least my Powerpoint is in good shape.

Well, I will do my best–will run through another 2-3 times tomorrow before the actual presentation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

