Posted by: unlikelygrad | April 5, 2011

nerves

I’ve run through the seminar again 2x today. It’s now the right length, 50 minutes. I want to practice at least once more, but I’m afraid of losing my voice.

Yikes, I’m nervous. The worst part is, I have no idea who will be grading. (Well, I do know one for sure, the one who’s on my committee. But everyone else will be a toss up…the usual geochem grader will be giving a test at the same time.) I have no idea whether I will get a tough crowd or an easy one…

I know, theoretically speaking, that doing stuff like this is good practice. But that doesn’t make it less nervewracking! (I told my advisor that I would rather give a presentation at a national meeting than here…because I wouldn’t be graded there!)

Responses

  1. Calm the hell down, you’ll be fine. Good luck.

  2. That’s what they told me last year, and I still ended up not passing…

  3. Can you carry in cue cards, I always found those helpful. And for stressful ones, sit a friend at the back of the room. Their job is to nod at you all the way through for reassurance.

  4. […] My second attempt at giving the departmental […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

