Posted by: unlikelygrad | April 11, 2011

I find this a bit scary

A while ago someone recommended Academia.edu to me as the academic version of Facebook/LinkedIn, and I created a profile there.

One feature of Academia.edu is that it sends you a message when someone searches for you on Google and clicks through to their site. They also tell you the search term this person used to look for.

Over the past month or so I have gotten a rash of searches, getting more and more specific. Today’s was “[UnlikelyGrad] student in the geochemistry program at [MyU]” (except it used the real names for me and MyU, obviously).

I could understand if I got searches for just my name, because there are at least 1,000 other people in America with that name, and some of them turn up pages and pages of material on Google. But me? Really? Am I famous or do I just have a stalker?

Responses

  1. Oh my god. It totally creeps me out too! Who are these people? How do they know me?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

