Posted by: unlikelygrad | April 25, 2011

I miss teaching

I miss teaching so much it hurts. I’m not saying I like grading (I don’t). But I miss explaining concepts to students–especially the ones who don’t “get it” the first time around–I love thinking of alternative explanations that work for different styles of learners.

I know I complained about my students a lot when I was a TA. But some of it was a sort of half-hearted, “I like making fun of people and these folks are particularly easy to make fun of” sort of complaining.

I’ve heard rumors from DannyBoy that, while Dr. Hand-Waver has enough money to pay me next school year, she only has enough to cover him for the summer. And so there’s a good chance he may be TA-ing next year. I’m starting to wonder if I should ask her to split the money–so I can TA one section, and he can TA the rest. I don’t need to teach that much to scratch my teaching itch, and it will have the added bonus of letting DannyBoy spend more time on his part of the project, which really does need figuring out.

My sister Chrissy (the professor) advises against this; she says I should charge ahead and get my research done ASAP. I can see where she’s coming from. However, I also know that I’ve got ADD–I actually focus better when I’m doing two things at once. Besides, teaching will make my life seem a little more worthwhile, and right now, I really really need something that will boost my spirits.

I dunno…if any senior grad students (or people with Ph.D.s in science) have any input on this, I’d love to hear it.

Responses

  1. tutor!!! you get paid on top of your RA salary, and there is no grading! i ended up tutoring a few high school chem students last year…it was totally rewarding interaction with minimal work.

    alternatively, you could try to swing a “reader” position here…i’m doing something like a half-time (in theory) TAship. the lab lasts all of five weeks…i chill with senior students while the XPS runs. (not much actual teaching there, but i still like it…)

    or get an undergrad minion! lots of teaching can and should happen in the research lab! this way you can get MORE research done (if your undergrad is good) AND you get to teach AND your minion gets awesome experience! if you had any particularly awesome students in your classes, might be a good idea to talk to Dr. HW…

  2. OMG, this is a gift, take it and run with it. I know you love teaching but being as productive as possible in the lab right now is paramount. Offer to sub in for DannyBoy if he needs a class off, but keep working your behind off in the lab.


Leave a Reply

Categories

