Posted by: unlikelygrad | May 20, 2011

would you do this?

In light of recent food-related posts I thought of my old labmate, T.

T. was a master’s student in another interdisciplinary program, and since he didn’t come in through the chemistry department he didn’t have an office. Thus, he set up his stuff in a corner of the lab (which was fine with the rest of us).

I noticed that he had no qualms about putting his lunch in the lab fridge. Dr. Hand-Waver almost never came into the lab to do labwork; I know she would have objected strenuously and ordered him to stop.

Personally, I didn’t care if he did it or not. But I did think he was a little odd for doing so: I don’t think I would be happy having my sandwich sitting on a shelf next to a bottle of ‘synthetic urine’ etc.

Responses

  1. Ewww. I’d be less worried about the synthetic urine than about the iron pentacarbonyl, though.

  2. Err… yeah, that is definitely a bit odd. Like Lukas above: ew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

