Posted by: unlikelygrad | July 3, 2011

field work

I chose geochemistry over chemistry because I wanted to do field work. I am a very outdoorsy person, and a day in the field is worth 10,000 days in the lab (as far as I’m concerned).

Alas, I got in on a project which is currently 100% lab work. Eventually, when the method is fine-tuned, I will get to take it out in the field. But that may be a while. So when a friend asked me if I would go out with her to the field, to be her assistant, I jumped at the chance.

The summary: 5 days, 2000 miles of driving (phew), several miles of hiking with lots o’ equipment, one flat tire in the middle of nowhere (no cell phone service), lots of sweat and frustration and a modest amount of sunburn…yielded a fraction of a cooler of samples for biological and geological analysis. I’m going to help her run the XRD, and she’s gonna analyze the rest.

I’m exhausted. But I had a fantastic time.

Responses

  1. […] I did tons of field work with DannyBoy and received notice that I was going to be doing oceanography in the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

