Posted by: unlikelygrad | February 27, 2012

taking full advantage

I’ll be heading out to sea again in a couple of days.

Since NSF was already paying for my plane ticket out here anyway, and since last weekend was not my weekend to have the kids, I flew out a couple of days early. I’m trying to be cheap since I don’t have much money (staying in a hostel instead of a hotel, buying food at supermarkets), and I’m having a good time. There’s a lot of scientifically interesting stuff here, so I tend to have a somewhat geekier itinerary than most tourists.

I’ll be leaving from the same port as last time but on a different research vessel–a considerably larger one. And I’ll be gone for a lot longer (~2 weeks) and will be going a lot farther (~2000 miles). We’ll be returning to a different port, one in the continental US. You have no idea how weird it felt buying a one-way ticket to the middle of the ocean.

I’m not sure what the internet capabilities will be on this ship–I’ve heard I get email only–so after tomorrow I may not post for a very long time.

Responses

  1. All the very best for your cruise!

  2. I don’t care stressful ur job is… U are great time with this voyages. U OWE US PICTURES…

    • I had an “A+” in ENGLISH

  3. I don’t care how stressful ur job is… U are obviously having a great time with this voyages. U OWE US PICTURES…


Leave a Reply

Categories

