Posted by: unlikelygrad | March 13, 2012

A first

When I was a kid, I threw up—a lot.  When asked about my “most embarrassing moment” I generally tell the story of the time I threw up at school, in the classroom right next to mine.  (For the next couple of years I was “the girl who threw up”.)

 But then, at about 18.5 years of age, I stopped throwing up.  Completely.  I went through four pregnancies with no more than mild queasiness.  There were times in the intervening years when I had four kids and a husband puking their guts out due to stomach flu, and the most I would do was burp up a wee bit of stomach acid.  I just didn’t throw up. 

Until a few days ago, that is.

 I should also add that I have been through some pretty rough weather at sea (such as crossing the English Channel on a ferry during one helluva storm—they stopped ferry service temporarily not long after our boat left port) and I have never gotten seasick before.  I don’t get sick on roller coasters, I don’t get sick on airplanes, and I sure as heck don’t get sick on boats.

 Until a few days ago, that is.

I was so completely non-seasick on my last research cruise that I didn’t bother taking Bonine before leaving port this time.  That was a mistake.

The seas this time were normal winter seas, I guess; not too different than what I experienced a few months prior on my first cruise.  But this cruise was a transit cruise, so we spent most of the time steaming at full power.  It took me about three hours from the time we left port to start getting queasy and another three hours after that to puke up my dinner.

 After that I went straight to my cabin, took some Bonine, brushed my teeth, and went to bed.  In the morning I was fine, thank God. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

