Posted by: unlikelygrad | March 27, 2012

yikes

The first two days of my written exams are/have been the biochemistry/microbiology questions. These were the ones I was freaking out about the most in advance; I’m a chemist, not a microbiologist!

So when I opened the first question yesterday and read through it I breathed a sigh of relief. Yes, I would have to research a few things, but I knew the issues involved, knew how to tackle it.

“Well, that wasn’t so bad,” I said to myself as I emailed the answer off yesterday afternoon. And this morning, when I got ready to open the next biochem/microbio question, I wasn’t nearly as scared as I’d been the day before.

I should have been.

Two sentences. It’s a measly two sentence question. “____ (relating to my project) is an important part of microbial physiology. Describe in detail what is known about these three things.” I’ve never even heard of two of the three.

Ah well, I do know how to research. And I know how to write, too. I can do this.

The prof who teaches my College Teaching class says that properly written exams are a learning experience, too. If that’s so, then my quals are definitely properly written.

Responses

  1. Kill it, you can do this!

  2. Good luck. I’m sure in the end you’ll do great.


Leave a Reply

Categories

