Posted by: unlikelygrad | May 14, 2012

Things I’m glad I don’t have to relive

Two of my boys, Nate and Lew, are taking AP tests this week. Nate actually started with the Calculus AP test last week and has two more tests this week. Lew has three in one week. Ugh.

Nate, a high school junior, is probably not going the community college route the way Al did, so he’s now fretting about college admissions. He tends to be a long-range planner (like me), so he’s constantly asking me questions about which undergraduate school might give him the best chance of getting into grad school.

It’s been quite a while since I was in his shoes–almost exactly 25 years–but I still remember how stressed out I was by the almost-constant barrage of standardized tests (PSAT, SAT, ACT, SAT subject tests, AP tests), not to mention the whole anxiety of choosing colleges, writing essays, and all that junk.

I’m glad I don’t have to jump through those hoops any more. No more standardized tests. No more applying to colleges….except for a post-doc. And a (hopefully) tenure-track position.

Blah. It never ends, does it?

Responses

  1. “… he’s constantly asking me questions about which undergraduate school might give him the best chance of getting into grad school.”

    I know someone who chose her undergrad school based on which school she thought might give her the best shot at getting into a top-notch law school. She changed her mind about law school during college, and now she wishes she had gone to the more selective school she turned down.

    I hope you advise your son to pick the school that best suits his learning style and level of academic accomplishments. Trying to game the system doesn’t always pay off like you think it might.


Leave a Reply

Categories

