Posted by: unlikelygrad | May 16, 2012

equipment breakage

I really hate when the analytical equipment breaks down and I have to repair it. It took me ~3 days to fix it this time. I ended cannibalizing another piece of equipment (unused) for parts, so there’s hope that this fix will last a little longer than the last one.

After hearing extensive grumbling on my part, a friend reminded me that even though my degree would say “geochemistry,” I was really being trained in the art of everything related to doing science–not just research, but writing papers and grants, giving presentations, and (of course) fixing equipment, among other things.

I like having friends who can put things in perspective for me.

Responses

  1. Yes, your friend is totally right there!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

