Posted by: unlikelygrad | May 17, 2012

aging fast

This year I turned 40. This did not make me feel old in the least.

A bit later this year, my oldest son Al turned 20. Again, this did not make me feel old. Well, not so much, anyway.

However, as of today I feel old.

This is what I picked up for myself today.

When I was a kid, I had 20-10 vision. Every time I went to the doctor and they determined this, they told me I should be a fighter pilot. (As though good vision were the only pre-requisite for a fighter pilot. You’d think they’d want someone who’s reasonably well coordinated, too.)

When I was 35, I went in for a physical and they determined that my vision was 20-15. “Great!” the doctor said. But for me, it was unmistakable proof that I was aging.

Alas, it did not take me another 35 years to slip to 20-20. In fact, I’m not quite at 20-20 any more. I need reading glasses. I also need glasses for driving. The driving glasses have actually been easy to get used to. The reading glasses…not so much.

To some people this might not be a big deal. But because of my good vision early in life, I’m rather vain about my eyes. I think my eyes are my best feature and I don’t want them to be hidden behind glasses.

Oh well. I’ll get used to it.

Responses

  1. This made me laugh. I too had excellent vision and lamented the fact of ‘reading glasses’
    After three years I now find myself forgetting to take them off. LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

