Posted by: unlikelygrad | June 12, 2012

Introducing…

…our new postdoc. Actually, she’s been in our lab for a month now but it took me that long to figure out a pseudonym for her.

I hereby christen her “MacGyverina.”

I always thought I was pretty clever at fixing problems with duct tape, cardboard, etc. but I can’t hold a candle to MacGyverina. She’s awesome. The ability to fix stuff with what’s on hand (or to put together new scientific equipment with parts from old stuff plus scrap tubing) is invaluable for an oceanographer (or any sort of scientist, I guess).

The two of us hit it off right away. This is always good for new co-workers, but especially valuable for people who will probably be sharing a stateroom for three weeks. (We head to sea together in a month or so.)

I look forward to learning from MacGyverina; I’ve already learned so much.

Leave a Reply

Categories

