Posted by: unlikelygrad | July 9, 2012

early birds

One thing that’s been very interesting as our lab grows is watching the change in how things run.

For a long time it was just me and DannyBoy. I usually get to school just before 8:30 (I have to drop off my kids at 8), but DannyBoy hates getting in before 10. This made collaborative work a little difficult. I always thought of him as “the late one” while I was the early bird.

Then MacGyverina showed up. She likes to come it at 7 am!! Suddenly I felt like a slacker. But really, there’s not a lot I can do to change my schedule because of outside constraints.

Jim-Bob, our undergrad, also turned out to be an early bird. He likes to show up at 8 am, and he’s usually puttering around by the time I get there. (I *love* people who take the initiative and don’t wait to be told what to do!)

So now poor DannyBoy is the only latecomer in the group. I’ve noticed that he’s started showing up earlier and earlier and is frequently showing up by 9. Yay for peer pressure!

Leave a Reply

Categories

