Posted by: unlikelygrad | August 7, 2012

numbers

Getting ready with my big post-cruise meeting with my advisor, I went through my results once more:

15 Go-Flo casts
~2000 data points (about 2 minutes each) so about 70 total hours

Doesn’t sound so bad. Why was I so exhausted? Oh yeah, there was all that prep time for experiments, probably about 100 L of reagents to be made. Plus data points taken round the clock, including at 2 am (darn you kinetics!), so rarely more than 5 hours sleep at one shot.

It sounds so simple. It wasn’t.

Some day I will publish this stuff and people will say, “She took *how* long to gather that data?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

