Posted by: unlikelygrad | September 17, 2012

frustration all around

Today MacGyverina, Dr. Hand-Waver and I had a meeting to discuss what we were going to do with our oceanography project in the future. It seems that the spot Dr. HW picked when writing her grant is not optimal…the Process We Look At exists, but we’re very close to the detection limit, so we can’t trust our numbers.

“Augh!” she exclaimed at one point, waving her hands in the air. “Why did I have to choose this system?”

It’s a question I’ve asked myself many times in the last couple of months. On the last cruise I did enough methodology adjustment to get some measurements, and basically the upshot is that the Process We Look At just isn’t significant compared to other sources of Our Favorite Chemicals. Blah.

So it looks like I won’t be going back to PortCity any time soon, which is kinda sad (because I have extended family there whom I wouldn’t otherwise see). Not sure where our next destination will be yet–we’re still waiting for the 2013 UNOLS ship schedules to come out.

It will work out. I hope.

Leave a Reply

Categories

