Posted by: unlikelygrad | October 1, 2012

depression and grad school part III

My ‘depression’ posts continue to be the most popular posts in my blog, so here’s an update.

In my second post on depression someone commented that my coping mechanisms were temporary fixes only, and that I needed to get to the root of the problem. For the last 2 years or so, that’s exactly what I’ve been doing:

(1) Psychotherapy. I started out doing appointments every other week; switching to every week a year ago was incredibly helpful.

(2) EMDR. This is a therapy used for “rapid reprocessing” of traumatic events. I started this after experiencing PTSD episodes linked to stuff that had happened in my marriage.

(3) Meds. This was the last piece of the puzzle for me–my therapist is very conservative about starting people on meds, but it became clear that I needed them (for a while, at least). Of course they help me not be depressed–but they also have helped me get rid of my anxiety symptoms. EMDR became so much more effective once the meds kicked in!

This combination has been super potent for me. I’m not saying I don’t have days where I’m not a little hard to motivate (who doesn’t?), but I never get non-functional the way I used to when I was still married.

It’s kind of weird being ‘normal’ but it’s a kind of weirdness I can get used to.

Leave a Reply

Categories

