Posted by: unlikelygrad | October 26, 2012

Dr. Unlikely??!!

Two days ago one of my cohort (yes, someone who came in at the same time as me) defended his dissertation. I’m happy for him, but at the same time I’m frustrated because none of my projects are going well right now and graduation seems to be so far off in the future.

This morning, I received the following email, which I assume came in through Academia.edu:


Dear Dr. [Unlikely]

My name is [redacted], a postdoctor in [Chinese] University in China, and I am writing to inquire about the possibility of pursuing a postdoctoral position in your research group.

I received my Ph.D. in Municipal Engineering in [Chinese] University in 2011. My doctoral research is studying on [stuff approximately related to what I do.]

Now, my research is on [very specific stuff so he can’t be a random spammer, and it is actually related to my group’s research objectives].

My research objectives:
1) [Environmental engineer’s equivalent of the theoretical work we do]
2) [Keywords that make him sound good, like reducing carbon output]

In recent years, I have published 5 papers cited by SCI (2 of them accepted), 3 papers cited by EI and 3 papers in level key periodical of China. My CV has been attached. Thank you for taking time to consider my application.

I look forward to having the opportunity to further discuss with you how I could contribute to your organization.

Sincerely,
[Name]

I appreciate the promotion to head of a research lab, but in all actuality it’s probably going to be another two years before I get there. I foresee this as being two years of congratulating members of my cohort as they defend their dissertation, all the while trying to whip my research into shape.

Gah.

Leave a Reply

Categories

