Posted by: unlikelygrad | January 31, 2013

to my well-meaning friends and family:

I am not some sort of superwoman. I am not some sort of do-it-all Goddess. I am just a person, ok?

Yes, I am a single mother. Yes, I am also a grad student. Yes, I am also involved in other things. But this does not mean I “do it all.” It’s true that I do lots of things, but right now I am doing none of them very well.

My research is creeping along. My custody evaluation is moving at a glacial pace. My house is a mess.*

Do I “bring home the bacon”? Yes I do. But I make somewhere around the federal poverty line for a family of four, and I have to pay my ex child support out of this amount. Did I mention that I have a son (Nate) who’s applying to colleges such as Caltech, MIT, and Brown? So next year I not only have to support myself, my oldest son full-time, and my youngest two half-time; I have to pay for Nate’s college somehow. I hope he gets lots of financial aid.

Do I take care of my kids? I try. Of course, they spend most of their time on weekdays with their father, and as a result at least one of them has mental health issues that I can’t fully address with the current parenting plan. Again, I try.

Do I have hobbies? Thankfully, yes. Unfortunately I have hardly any time to indulge in them any more, and as a result I am very stressed.

I am tired all the time. I get frustrated at how little I get done, or rather how much I leave undone. I move forward only because I have to.

So please stop treating me like a brilliant, amazing, immortal heroine. Just give me a hug or pat me on the back and say, “Hang in there. I’m on your team.”

Your exhausted friend/family member,

UnlikelyGrad

*My kids always try to tell me that my house is quite clean compared to their Dad’s place, but this is little comfort, since UnlikelyDad is the worst kind of slob.

Leave a Reply

Categories

