Posted by: unlikelygrad | February 7, 2013

just how salty is seawater, anyway?

Have you ever wondered how much salt is actually in seawater? I’ve always known it was a lot, but I didn’t realize quite how much until I had to start making artificial seawater for my experiments.

Here are the major components–the ones I can actually weigh out on a balance. (We make stock solutions for trace elements.)

IMG_0592

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Usually I weigh out each salt individually and transfer it directly into my milliQ water, but just for grins I put it all in one big weighing dish this time.

IMG_0593

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It works out to about 40 g per liter of seawater. Major components are sodium chloride (of course), magnesium chloride, and sodium sulfate.

Responses

  1. After looking over a number of the articles on your web site, I really like your way of writing a blog. I saved it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site as well and tell me how you feel.


Leave a Reply

Categories

