Posted by: unlikelygrad | March 21, 2013

a couple of gifts from my advisor

(1) Dr. Hand-Waver has given me hope!!  She  told me that I should be close to wrapping up this time next year–which I can start to see.  Of course this means that I must write and defend a thesis proposal some time in the next few months, but I’m happy to do that if it brings me closer to being done.

(2) Alas, about the same  time, she also gave me a nasty cold.  I was out of bed after a couple of days but I haven’t been able to think straight for the past week or so.  (And it’s not just me: Dr. HW said she had to postpone writing a proposal until she got better.)  I’m still fighting the absent-mindedness, the fatigue, and the nasty cough.

Luckily, most of my time right now is spent prepping for a short jaunt to sea–acid-washing bottles, packing, getting the analytical equipment into top-notch operating condition–most of which can be done with only half a brain.  Unfortunately I can only stand up for about an hour or so before needing to sit down and rest.

Gah.  I think I’m going to go home an hour early so I can take a nap.

Responses

  1. So glad there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. Feel better.

  2. Hey, I am an internet passerby who checks in on your blog every now and then. I think we are in the same state, and RSV was going around at the end of March. It’s a nasty, nasty virus; my toddler was hospitalized with it then. Anyway, glad to see that things are looking up for you overall!

    • I’m in Colorado.

      RSV? Jeez. I was lucky to get off as lightly as I did.


Leave a Reply

Categories

