Posted by: unlikelygrad | June 26, 2013

space wars

A couple of weeks ago a company which was going out of business decided to donate all of its equipment to MyU–specifically, the chemistry department.

I first heard about this when Dr. Hand-Waver (who’s almost never in lab) came in and started wandering around saying, “Maybe I could put it here…maybe here.”  I asked what was going on, and she mentioned that we might be getting a glove-box for free.

I knew she’d wanted access to a glove-box for a while now; she’s interested in the chemistry that occurs at sediment-water interfaces, which necessitates work in an anoxic environment.  Still, our lab space consists of half of a very modestly-sized lab (Dr. J’s group has the other half), and what she was describing sounded like it would be a tight squeeze.  She identified a couple of spots where it might go, and neither of them would be good for our working arrangements.

A few days ago I ran into DannyBoy, who mentioned that the glove box in question was sitting in the hallway, in the space under the stairs.  I ran down to take a look.  Holy cow that thing is huge!!!  I’m pretty good at estimating such things and I was almost positive that it wouldn’t fit in either of the spaces she’d been talking about.

Today Dr. HW and Dr. J came by with measurements, and, indeed.  It will not fit easily.  The best spot for it is, sadly, a wall with a fire extinguisher box; we’ll clearly have to go for plan B.

Upshot: My work space will be shrinking soon.  I will also be losing valuable drawer space.  I will probably try to make up for this by cajoling some of my labmates into giving up some of their work space.  This does not bode well for the future.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

