Posted by: unlikelygrad | August 15, 2013

reading vs. e-reading

I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately–I’ve printed a couple dozen journal articles that I’d previously saved as pertinent and am now reading them in depth.

Some people are surprised that I print the things, as it’s much easier to just read the PDFs on computer.  Maybe for them, but not for me!  For one thing, I’m more likely to catch small details when I’m reading words on a printed page.  (By the same token, I always print out a paper for the final proofreading stage; there are always typos etc that I don’t catch any other way.)  Also, I like marking up a paper copy with pen, pencil, and/or highlighter.  I have yet to find a good way to do that with PDFs.

Of course, reading electronically does have one advantage: if my eyes get tired of reading small print, I can easily zoom in a bit.  With the paper copies, I have to get out my reading glasses (which I own, but hate to use).

Leave a Reply

Categories

