Posted by: unlikelygrad | August 29, 2013

teaching for Dr. Hand-Waver again

Dr. Hand-Waver was out of town for the start of the school year, in part because she and our collaborator Bacterienne were co-chairing a session at the Goldschmidt conference.  So I ended up teaching the first four lecture hours of her graduate-level class.

In case you’ve never done it before, let me say that lesson planning can be very time-consuming.  For example, for today’s (1 hr) lecture, I basically spent 3 hours prepping.  And I actually knew what to do with this class–the previous class was HORRIBLE.

We spent a lot of time today working on a complicated multi-step problem using skills I’d taught them in the previous two hours of lecture.  I thought it was interesting because at the end of step one I paused and asked if there were any questions.  People shook their heads, and they seemed to be finished writing down what we’d just done, so I moved on to step two. Halfway through step two, someone raised his hand and asked a question about what I’d just done in step one.  ARGH!!  And then something similar happened again with step three and step four.

I’m still trying to figure out why they didn’t ask their questions at a more appropriate time.   Maybe it really does take their brain that long to catch up with what they’ve written.

Leave a Reply

Categories

