Posted by: unlikelygrad | October 8, 2013

a mish-mash post

Dr. Hand-Waver tells me I am definitely on track to graduate end-of-summer-ish next year.  

The two lab projects I’ve been working on are partially written up–we’ve discovered some, uh, interesting stuff as the experiments go along, so there is more lab work to be done, but I am pleased at where I am with both of these.  I have a fairly complete list of what needs to be done for each project, enough that I have written most of the thesis proposal sections for those.  

I am really excited to wrap these projects up!  I’ve even started coming in on weekends when I don’t have the kids.  It means that my house has been a bit messier than usual, since I usually clean on weekends, but hey–a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

The real issue, the reason I haven’t defended my thesis proposal yet, is the fieldwork component.  We had so many methodological setbacks that I couldn’t really do anything with the data I collected at sea.  So the big question for a long time was, “What in the world am I going to do???!!” Well, now I have a pretty good idea–I’m still selling Dr. Hand-Waver on it, but she is gradually being convinced.  She liked the spin I put on it in our recent discussion–it’s something no one else has quite done before, and something that ties in well with my lab   I think I know enough to write this in the thesis proposal as well (And I can certainly write the intro/methodology sections of that paper-to-be as well; I do finally have the methodology worked out.)

In the meantime, she’s having me look for jobs.  This is the last thing I want to do right now, but now is when teaching jobs for next fall are being posted–so here I go!  One application is in, and I’m mulling whether or not I meet the qualifications for another.  Unfortunately, I am geographically limited, but I’ll do the best I can.  I hope I can end up teaching, rather than doing consulting work (which is what most of the people in my field do if they don’t want to go into academia).

Leave a Reply

Categories

