Posted by: unlikelygrad | November 15, 2014

I should knit…

I’ve always wanted to learn to knit, particularly because I have trouble sitting still unless I’m doing something with my hands. I’ve tried learning but have yet to get the hang of knitting.

A couple of days ago I got a fresh batch of bacterial strains from our collaborator. They arrived in Petri dishes on agar:

IMG_1947

My job was to transfer them to growth media so I could make freezer stocks for use in experiments. That sort of work is best done in the culture lab, which is unfortunately in a different building than my lab. So I had to bring the agar plates outside.

Unfortunately, the high temperature that day was around 10 F. I really didn’t think going outside in that cold would make my bacteria particularly happy, so I looked around for something I could use to insulate them. I found an old sweater of my son’s stuffed into one of my desk drawers and decided that would work perfectly.

I’ve since used the “bacteria sweater” (as I’m now calling it) for insulating my cultures on several runs to/from the culture lab. I’m starting to think it would be a good idea to have insulating sleeves for things like Petri dishes, Falcon tubes, and such. I wish I could knit some, but since I can’t, maybe my son Will could do it…

Leave a Reply

Categories

