Posted by: unlikelygrad | July 15, 2015

Staying anonymous

It was easy to use my real name when I was only doing research. But I don’t really feel comfortable blogging under my real name when I’m teaching on the off chance that my students google me. So my first thought when I went through and redacted my name earlier this year was, “This is just until I graduate.”

But then I graduated and got a job teaching for the summer.

And now…drumroll…I’ll be teaching for next school year as well. I’ll be an Assistant Professor (of the visiting type; sadly, not tenure track) of Analytical Chemistry at a Large Urban University (with a very diverse population and LOTS of non-traditional students) somewhere in the eastern U.S.

I am thrilled by the job as I always envisioned myself teaching and hoped that I’d get a chance to work with students like me. I only have two regrets: (1) It’s not a permanent job, and (2) It’s not in a city I would have chosen as a home. But it’s a good job, and I think that, overall, I’ve been lucky job-wise.

Responses

  1. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Categories

